Ahh, three day week ends!

There is nothing like a taking a small break from the daily routine of “wake up, got to work, back to sleep”. Three day weekends is like the new academic breaks, except way shorter.

I went to the movies last Saturday to see Tomorrowland, and I was going to write a post about what I thought about it, like I did for Mad Max and Avengers, but I could not think of anything to say. I wasn’t sure what to think of it in the first place, but the trailer convince me to give it a chance. The music is neither exceptional nor complete rubbish, the visuals are pretty well done and include several nods to Disneyland’s Magic Kingdom parks (you see the Space Mountain dome in a couple scenes, the ‘it’s a small world’ ride makes an appearance, and I guess a reference to the Jules Verne aspect of the Discoveryland section of the french Disney park? Probably a bit of a stretch there) but ultimately, the story is pretty shallow. There are not clear cut villain and the ending is very much open, concluding on a feel good moral about how the future is what you make it and how you should be optimistic about your own competence or something like that. It kinda feels like a promotional film for Science in general. It decent movie with some good humor, but a bit forgettable.

There is one thing that really irked me though. It’s this recurring trope about magical item/experiences, where instead of explaining what happened to them, the hero insist on having others experience it for themselves only to look like a complete lunatic when nothing happens (I am looking through TV tropes right now to see if this has a entry but can’t seem to find one). The main character gets the Tomorrowland pin which gives her visions of Tomorrowland or whatever, but it only works on her. Instead of saying “Dude, I get visions when I touch this”, she assumes that it works with anyone, only like to look like a complete idiot when nothing happens when her father picks it up. She also keeps forgetting that she still is in the real world when she get the visions. I get it, it’s funny, but so annoying! Uhh, whatever. It’s a film. Let’s move on.

Finally got around to paint that Cylon model that I had assembled and primed a few weeks ago. Not the best paint job ever, but good enough. I guess you could say that I should BRUSH up on my painting skills… (what a terrible pun, I know…)

WP_20150525_14_03_36_Pro

Also assembled this cool Imperial star Destroyer thingy (which was a pain to assemble):

WP_20150524_17_00_16_Pro

I think they’ll make great additions to the Batmobile I already have at my cubicle. I also dropped by the Model store and got a kit for the U.S.S. Enterprise NCC-1701-E, the one from Star Trek the Next Generation. I have never seen any episodes of the actual show, but they are available on Amazon prime Instant video for free. I’ll try to watch some of it before being accused of being a poser or something.

This weekend was also the graduation day for the Middlebury College class of 2015. Big Congratulations to all of my friends I left behind and here is a piece of advice to them:

Don’t wreck your car into a tree! Trust me, It kinda sucks… Oh and get yourself a credit history before leaving to live on your own. Greatly helps getting basic things like an apartment or a car…

One thought on “Ahh, three day week ends!

Leave a Reply

