Always nice to have a good challenge…

WP_20150618_17_33_00_Pro 1

To anyone who knows me well, it is no secret that I like puzzles, and specifically Rubik’s cubes. Back in high school, a couple of my friend were able to solve it within a minute and that got me inspired. Surprisingly, learning how to solve the Rubik’s cube is relatively easy, it just require some patience, practice and a good sense of orientation. Since then, I have continued to collect and learn how to solve ever more complex puzzle.

I own a box choke full of Rubik like puzzle of different shape and sizes (as you can see from the first picture), but unfortunately I hadn’t had the chance to bring it from New York yet and I only have a standard 3x3x3 cube and couple other variant. Starting to get somewhat bored of solving the same puzzles over and over again, I decided to get some new ones:

WP_20150817_16_22_35_Pro

As you can easily see, these Rubik’s cube don’t have the standard color scheme but rather unique designs. These are from a Greek company called V-Cube. They were the first company to figure out and patent a mechanism that allowed for puzzle of more than 5 layers. If you are looking for a good quality puzzle, I would recommend buying from them, and hey, you’ll help Greece with their bailout (probably not actually…).

WP_20150817_16_22_49_Pro

The first puzzle has a Sudoku puzzle printed on each face of the cube. Each face has a different Sudoku, meaning that there is only one valid solution. It was the easiest to solve of the three. Due to the way the Sudoku are laid out  on the cube, you can use that to your advantage to orient the pieces more easily.

WP_20150817_16_22_43_ProThis second one is similar except that instead of Sudoku, it has a crossword puzzle on it. Just like the Sudoku puzzle, you can use the writings to help you orient the pieces. Because some of the pieces has a lot of black filler, it is a bit more confusing to solve. The best way to solve this one is simply to remember what words are used.

WP_20150817_16_22_54_Pro

Finally this is the “Maze” puzzle. This one takes things to a whole new level. This one is lot more abstract than the to two others. Each face has this maze like design on it. Technically, there are only 2 different patterns but  I haven’t found out how you are supposed to figure out which piece goes with which. I’m sure there is a trick that helps solving it, but it seems to escape me for now.

Well, I guess I have my work cut out for me. Who knows, maybe I’ll figure it out before the end of the week.

Leave a Reply

