Wifi difficulties / Super Bowl thoughts / a short movie review…

I have been meaning to write a blog recently but I am having issues with my wifi box thingy. Every so often it sorts of stop working, but still indicates that everything still works. All the indicator light on the box are on, indicating that it is connected to the internet and broadcasting but none of my devices can connect at all to. I really hate when I am in the middle of writing and WordPress just crashes, not saving what I was typing… At least it hasn’t happened while I was playing online.

The way I am fixing it to to turn it on and off again, but that is really annoying. I’ll probably go and look for a new Wifi router at some point, but it can wait for now.

*****

In case you were wondering, I did not watch the end of the Super Bowl, not that I was paying much attention during the first half of the game anyways. The only advertisement that stuck to mind that really weird one for Kickstart, the pseudo energy drink from Mountain Dew. I don’t know what they were smoking when they came up with ‘puppy-monkey-baby’ but it must really be potent and extremely illegal. Probably something you could get in Amsterdam…

Also, I still don’t understand why everyone always get so excited for the halftime show considering it’s all playback and very possibly even lip sync. I understand that it would to complicated to assemble a proper stage with speaker and audio and that the acoustic are terrible inside a football stadium, there are probably no real other practical means to put on big show. It still bothers me it’s mostly fake.

*****

I went to see Kung Fu Panda 3 the other week. It was about as good as I expected it to be. It’s one of the few series of animated films that Dreamwork has managed to be consistent with. The sequel to how to train your dragon was definitely not as good as the original and the Shrek sequels only got worse, so it is good to know that at least they have some talent left.

Though the more I think about the more I feel that the basic plot to the third Kung fu panda and the second one where essentially the same. Po thinks he is a Kung fu master, some new bad guy show up and beats up everyone, Po must learn something (inner peace/chi) and defeat the bad guy is some big fight at the end.

Maybe I am trying to hard to think of something to say about the film, but I like the idea that Dreamwork has a check list named “How to make a Kung Fu Panda film” lying around.

*****

Two big film I have been waiting for just came out: Zoolander 2 and Deadpool! So far it seems that Deadpool is actually good and that Zoolander is rubbish, according to the Rotten Tomatoes rating. I’ll still go and see Zoolander 2, just to get a baseline for terrible movies for this year. I think it is important to watch terrible movies once in a while, as a sort of pallet cleanser for the cinematic art. If I had not seen Pixels, which was horrible, I don’t think I could have grasped how much worse Fantastic four was. It also help find mediocre movies that are worse watching from terrible movies that should have never seen the light of day.

You can most definitely count on a couple reviews coming this weekend as I go see the first big releases of this year!

Leave a Reply

