February general life update… updated

Last year’s February was quite spectacular. We got hit by a freak snow storm during Superbowl weekend that no one saw coming, I had just ran my car into a tree, and we were breaking temperature records in the negative. This year is quite the opposite! As a matter of fact it is nearly 60˚ outside right now! The massive snow storm everyone was so scared of was nothing short of a let down (at least for me), and my car is not in the garage for repair! Doesn’t that sound wonderful? Because it is pretty great here.

*****

Anyways, After month of waiting and complaining to the seller via Paypal, I finally received the Rubik’s cube stickers that I had ordered back in late November. The two blank cubes that laying around on my desk are finally stickered.

IMG_20160221_155041

If you are a Rubik’s cube fan, You will recognize the left cube being a Shepherd’s cube, one of the more common sticker modification. Instead of colors, each face has white arrow stickers that create two spirals on the face of the cube. It’s not all that hard to solve if you have familiarity with super cubes and shape shifting cubes. There are quite a few piece that are duplicates, so I usually start with one of the two spiral corners and work my way outwards. It’s decent challenge but not as hard the other cube.

If you don’t recognize the other cube’s sticker pattern/design it’s because it a creation of my own, more specifically based on a cube I Bought last year, The maze cube.

WP_20150817_16_22_54_Pro

The thing about the maze cube is that I still haven’t properly solved it. The black and white pattern really messes with your mind. It’s hard to know what piece goes where and it is easy to lose your direction. In hopes of figuring out a reliable method to solve it I decided to take the mathematical approach: creates a simpler but essentially identical situation.

Instead of having two mirrored black and white patterns I went with two colored stickers with arrows and assigned one pattern to one color and the other pattern with the other color and reproduce the cube but with colors and arrow.

I did give the new cube a solve and I think I might be unto something. It  is still a bit hard to solve but I think that I might be able to get this reliable a actually solve the bastard. The hard part will be to memorize what part of the pattern goes where but that’s for another time.

*****

I finally got around to start watching Netflix’s Jessica Jones series. I was big fan of the Daredevil series they made (and very excited for season 2) and had heard good thing from people who had already seen it. That being said, I am a bit on the fence about this show. I don’t dislike it but I don’t necessarily love it either.

I have only seen 4 episodes so far and it is definitely growing on me but I am not a big fan of the art direction. I get they are trying to do the whole Film Noir with detective monologue and jazzy music, but that clashes a bit too much with the fight scenes and the more supernatural aspect of the main characters. It has only improved with each succeeding episode so I don’t think it will be a recurring issue.

David Tenant as the big villain is phenomenal,the actor they got for Luke Cage is awesome, the references to other Marvel heroes are always a nice touch. Overall, it is pretty good, maybe more of an acquired taste than Daredevil was, but definitely another solid entry in the marvel universe. I can’t wait to see what they do with Iron Fist too, though i have been reading they are having problem with how mystical they want to get with the character. Only time will tell I suppose.

*****

Update:

I just remembered of something that I forgot to talk about! After all those stories about the Flint water scandal and the recent story about another polluted water story in Texas, I decided that it would be a good idea to buy a water filter for my tap. After all, better be safe than sorry right?

IMG_20160221_154526

The only problem is that it my faucet is being a %&$#. The fitting that is currently screwed in just won’t budge an inch, and I need to get rid of it before I can fit the filter…

Why is it so hard to do something so simple… uuughh…

Leave a Reply

